According to an April 2017 article in the Space Coast Daily, citizens’ tips helped lead to the arrest of burglary suspects. The burglary in question occurred when two men allegedly broke into the Florida Grill located in St. John. The two were allegedly recorded on surveillance video stealing bottles of alcoholic beverages. The Brevard County Sheriff’s Office placed images from the recording on its Facebook page and asked for help identifying the alleged suspects.
Based on the information provided, a 17-year-old and an 18-year-old were arrested. They were both from the St. John area. There were criminally charged with grand theft, criminal mischief, and burglary.
At the time of the article’s publishing, both men were incarcerated. The 17-year-old was in a juvenile detention center and the 18-year-old was in the county jail on a $7,500 bond. The outcome of their criminal cases are not known at this time.
Brevard County Burglary
Burglary is defined in Florida as the crime of going into a building or vehicle owned by another with the intent to commit a crime. The exact crime is further broken down by the facts of the case like if the defendant will be charged with home invasion, trespass, armed burglary, or just burglary.
The time in prison will also vary according to the type of burglary a defendant is accused of committing. For instance, home invasion is the crime of going into an occupied vehicle or building with the intent to commit a crime such as theft. Home invasion is a second degree felony and is punishable by 15 years in Florida state prison and a $10,000 fine.
Brevard County Burglary of an Unoccupied Building or Vehicle
A person convicted of burglary of an unoccupied vehicle or building will not get off easy according to Florida criminal law. A defendant will do less time than someone who committed burglary of an occupied vehicle or building, however.
They may be sentenced to about five years in state prison and pay a $5,000 fine.
Negating the Intent to Commit a Crime
The important part of a burglary charge involves the intent to commit a crime after breaking and entering into the vehicle or property. Many people use the defense of attacking this element of the case. If a defendant had no intention of committing a crime, then he or she should not be convicted of burglary.
Contact the Henderson Legal Group about Your Brevard County Burglary Charge
You have been charged with burglary in Florida. You need to fight the charge. Maybe you want to try to get the charge reduced or dismissed. You need the help of the Henderson Legal Group. We are available and ready to resolve your burglary case in your favor. Contact us.