Do I Need an Attorney for a DUI in Broward County?

 A DUI can happen in an instant. One minute you are driving along without any problems and the next you are being stopped and questioned about DUI. Getting charged with DUI can be scary and complicated. You may not know what to expect or where to turn for answers. Some friends may try to give you advice on how to handle the situation. However, this is not always the best way to decide what to do. DUI charges are serious and can impact your life and the lives of your entire family, now and for years to come. It is best to seek guidance from a knowledgeable DUI attorney in Broward County.

How a DUI Will Impact Your Life

If you are convicted of DUI in Florida, you will likely face some stiff penalties. If this is your first DUI, you will probably have to pay a hefty fine and may need to spend time in jail. You might also have to participate in an alcohol awareness program and community service. There are some other fees that may not always be apparent.

You will generally have to pay court fees and fines that can be $1,000 or more. If your vehicle was towed from the traffic stop, you will have to pay for towing and storage fees to retrieve your car. DUI education will cost you at least $250 and you may also incur treatment costs that might be $500 and more.

If you are convicted of DUI you will lose your driving privileges for six months to a year, depending on the circumstances. This means you will be forced to use public transportation, or take a taxi or Uber to work, shopping and to perform chores. The expenses of using these methods of transportation will add up quickly in both time and money.

When you get your license back you will need to obtain insurance. Insurance costs for someone with a DUI conviction are extremely high. Some insurance companies may increase your rates by $1,000 or more and sometimes they may drop you completely. Additionally, Florida law requires you to obtain FR44 insurance after a DUI conviction. This insurance alone may cost upwards of $300 a month, and is required for a period of at least three years following a DUI conviction.  

How a DUI Attorney Will Help

Most people who represent themselves through a DUI legal process will be sadly disappointed. You will likely not get the results that you expect. It is in your best interest to hire an experienced DUI attorney with knowledge of the Broward County legal system. Your lawyer will immediately work to try to reduce the charges or get some of the evidence excluded. If the police made a mistake with the administration of the DUI test, for example, your attorney may be able to ensure that the test results cannot be used in your case. This could immediately limit the case against you and the charges could be dropped.

In some instances, your attorney will work to get the charges reduced. If you were arrested, your lawyer will present the reasons why you should be free on an I-bond or get a lower bail. You want to fight to keep a DUI conviction off your record. You can achieve the best possible results with help from a skilled DUI attorney. Do not try to fight a DUI charge on your own. Call our reputable Broward County criminal defense team at Henderson Legal Group today.

Share

Related Posts