According to a July 2017 Florida Today article, an alleged burglar was caught on video after breaking into a detective’s Palm Bay home.
The alleged burglary was caught on a security video system the police officer had installed in his home. The officer alerted police immediately. The alleged burglar was then found in a portable toilet near the home.
The 25-year-old man was charged with burglary of an unoccupied dwelling, possession of stolen goods, grand theft, and criminal mischief. The man was on probation at the time of his arrest, so he is also facing a probation violation. At the time of report, he was being held at the Brevard County jail without bail.
According to police, the man went into the officer’s home around 8 p.m. on a Sunday. The officer, who was out of state at the time, contacted Palm Bay police. After finding the alleged burglar, police used the home security device to speak to the homeowner. They and the alleged burglar stood in front of the camera and asked the officer if the man was the one in the home at the time of the burglary.
The policeman confirmed that he was the man he saw walking in his home at the time of the burglary. The alleged burglar told police that he was a fence installer completing work outside the home. Police did find a couple pieces of jewelry on the burglar, and the police officer who owned the home confirmed that the jewelry belonged to him.
Brevard County Burglary Involves Entering a Place Without Permission
According to Florida law, burglary is the act of entering a dwelling or structure without permission from the property owner. The individual entering the dwelling or property does so with the intent of committing another crime. He or she has no right to be there.
Burglary is further broken down into three degrees.
Third Degree Felony Burglary in Brevard County
Third degree felony burglary is the act of entering an unoccupied building with the intent to commit another crime such as theft. For instance, the man who allegedly entered the police officer’s home was charged with third degree burglary. Since the police officer was not home at the time, it fit the definition of an unoccupied building.
The penalty for third degree felony burglary is up to five years in prison.
Second Degree Burglary in Brevard County
Second degree burglary also involves entering a dwelling or structure without permission and with intent to commit another crime. During the burglary, no one was hurt and the alleged burglar did not have a weapon. The structure could also be a government vehicle or place where controlled substances are kept.
This offense has a penalty of 15 years in prison.
First Degree Burglary in Brevard County
This offense is the toughest burglary charge. The individual is accused of entering a home without permission and with the intent to commit another crime. At the time of the offense, the alleged burglar has a weapon, harms another person, or the items taken are valued at more than $1,000.
The penalty for this offense is 30 years in prison.
Contact Henderson Legal Group About Your Brevard County Burglary Charge
If you or a loved one is accused of burglary, we are here to assist you. Contact us immediately.